Anderson Elected Mayor of Monticello

For the third time, David Anderson will be sworn in as Mayor of Monticello after having won Tuesday’s runoff election 554-508. Democrat Anderson, who was already serving as Interim Mayor, defeated Independent Joe Rogers.

The runoff was necessary because of the first mayoral election involving Independent Ronny Carr on May 9. At that time, Anderson also was the top vote-getter, but no candidate received a majority of votes cast.

“I want to say thank you to my wife and family for putting up with me during this election,” Anderson said this morning from his office, where he can now settle in. “And I want to say thank you to all the people who worked for us, as well as raised finances for our campaign.

“I hope to continue to provide stability’s in the Mayor’s office in the next 18 months with an open-door policy that I believe in. The projects we’ve already got started, like the dam at Lake Monticello and the Miracle League (of Southeast Arkansas’ field that is to be constructed at the Monticello Sports Complex to provide all athletes, regardless of ability, to play baseball), I want to see through.

“To the people that voted for my opponent, I would say this: I will still be your Mayor regardless of who you voted for. If anyone has any ideas, my door (in City Hall) is always open.”

Tuesday’s runoff presumably ended the turmoil caused by the resignation of former Mayor Zack Tucker. Tucker resigned on Jan. 17 as part of a plea agreement after having been charged with abuse of offi ce and tampering with public records concerning his actions for a festival. The city council appointed Anderson Interim Mayor that same day and he has been serving in that capacity since.

With Tuesday’s win, Anderson becomes the 42nd head of the city and the third three-time mayor of Monticello, joining V.B. McCloy and J.G. Williamson. In addition to his stint as Interim Mayor this year, Anderson was elected to a four-year term earlier in the 21st century, serving from Jan. 1, 2003 to Dec. 31, 2006.

He will serve the remainder of Tucker’s term, which ends in December 2018. Next November, Monticellonians will choose a mayor to serve the four-year term from Jan. 1, 2019 to Dec. 31, 2023.

Tuesday’s runoff election saw a better turnout than did the May 9 election with all three candidates. Unofficially, there were 1,062 votes cast Tuesday; 1,051 voted May 9. There are 5,189 registered voters in Monticello, according to Drew County Clerk Lyna Gulledge.

The Advance-Monticellonian

Mailing Address:
PO Box 486
Monticello, AR 71657

Street Address:
314 Main Street
Monticello, AR 71655

Phone: 870-367-5325
Fax: 870-367-6612

Comment Here